William J. Zellerbach Award for Social Change

Posted on February 28, 2019

The Zellerbach Family Foundation invites Bay Area organizations to apply for the first annual William J. Zellerbach Award for Social Change (WJZ Award). The award is being established to honor the legacy of William J. Zellerbach, who served as the foundation’s Board Chair from 1960 until his death in 2017.

Apply here

The WJZ Award recognizes Bay Area organizations that are developing visionary approaches to advance social justice and address the pressing needs faced by communities throughout the Bay Area. Whether a pilot project or a new organization, the award seeks to recognize innovative efforts that have the potential for sustainable and replicable systems change in our region and beyond. In 2019, one $50,000 prize will be made to the recipient of the WJZ Award.

To be eligible, nominees must be 501c3 public charities and located in and serving San Francisco, Alameda, Contra Costa, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, Marin, Sonoma, and/or Napa county. The following criteria will be used when assessing nominations:

Equity- Nominees can work on a range of issues faced by Bay Area communities but must be focused on reforming policy, institutions, systems, and/or culture to ensure equitable outcomes for all communities

Creativity- Nominees are innovative in their approach and ability to effect change

Collaboration- Nominees have demonstrated a commitment to work effectively with other organizations, leaders, and/or sectors

Representation- The staff, leadership, and/or boards of nominated organizations represent the communities they serve

Traction- Nominated organizations will have demonstrated momentum towards achieving and sustaining their goals

Timeline and Nomination Process

The process for nominations for the 2019 WJZ Award will be as follows:

  • The nomination period opens on Tuesday, March 5th and closes at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, April 30th.
  • The submitted nominations will be reviewed by a ZFF staff committee, who will advance 5-10 finalists to the selection committee, comprised of ZFF board members, community leaders, and subject matter experts from the field.
  • Finalists will be notified by email by May 30, 2019 if their application is being advanced to the second round and may be asked for more information regarding the nominated program or organization. The award recipient will be announced in September 2019.

You may nominate your own organization or another organization that you are familiar with. If you are nominating an organization that you do not work for, please be sure to coordinate with them to ensure that the questions are answered fully and accurately.

For questions, please email wjzaward@zff.org.

Apply Today!